Notre équipe

Mike Butcher

Fondateur & Président

Mike Butcher est rédacteur en chef de TechCrunch. Mike a été nommé l’un des journalistes les plus influents de la technologie européenne par Wired UK, The Daily Telegraph et Evening Standard. Il a également fondé les Europas Awards annuels, le réseau de collaboration TechHub et a conseillé le gouvernement britannique sur la politique concernant les startups technologiques. Il a reçu un MBE dans la liste des honneurs de l’anniversaire de la reine de 2016 pour ses services à l’industrie technologique et au journalisme du Royaume-Uni.

Joséphine Goube

PDG

Diplômée de Sciences Po Paris et de la London School of Economics en développement urbain, Josephine est PDG de Techfugees. Elle siège au conseil d’administration du Norwegian Refugee Council et agit en tant qu’expert informel pour la Commission européenne sur les réformes migratoires. Nommée parmi les «30 entrepreneurs sociaux de moins de 30 ans» par Forbes en 2016, 2017 et 2018, elle a été nommée en 2017 «Femmes numériques» de l’année en France en 2017. De 2012 à 2016, Joséphine a été responsable des partenariats chez Migreat , une startup londonienne spécialisée dans les demandes de visas pour l’Europe.

Photo ©Ben McMillan 2013

Louise Brosset

Coordinatrice de la communauté internationale

Diplomée en entrepreneuriat à ESCP Europe à Paris, Berlin et de la City University à Londres, Louise a travaillé comme assistante de recherche en sciences cognitives. Elle a confondé Black Sheep, une association étudiante de recherche sur les meilleures pratiques des ONG travaillant avec les personnes déplacées à l’étranger (focus Asie). Elle a rejoint Techfugees en septembre 2018.

 

Mas Mahmud,

Responsable Impact & Nouveaux Projets

De nationalité bangladaise, Mas est diplômé de Sciences Po Paris avec un Master en droits de l’homme et action humanitaire. Auparavant, il a travaillé au HCR à Genève en se concentrant sur la protection communautaire et à la Fédération internationale des droits de l’homme à Bruxelles sur la recherche sur les questions des droits de l’homme. Il a également travaillé sur l’élimination du travail des enfants et l’amélioration des compétences en alphabétisation au Bangladesh avec une ONG pendant 2 ans. Aujourd’hui, il gère bénévolement EKOTA, une ONG fondée et gérée par des personnes déplacées qui se concentre sur leur inclusion égale dans les politiques et les programmes.

Laura Braune

Marketing Digital & Communications

Laura termine son master en Droits de l’Homme & Action Humanitaire à Sciences Po Paris. Elle a rejoint l’équipe de Techfugees en mars 2020 afin d’y effectuer un stage en Marketing et Communication Digitale. Laura travaille auprès des populations réfugiées et déplacées depuis plus de trois ans désormais. Elle a effectué différentes missions avec Sciences Po Refugee Help, les Croix Rouge Française et Belge, ou encore un stage d’un mois dans une école Montessori auprès d’enfants orphelins au Sri Lanka. Laura est par ailleurs passionnée par la Diplomatie, et a effectué un stage de quatre mois au sein de la Représentation Permanente de la France auprès des agences des Nations unies à Rome. C’est là-bas qu’elle a développé son goût pour la tech et l’innovation, et qu’elle a définitivement été convaincue de leur utilité pour la protection et le respect des droits des personnes déplacées.

Petra Johansson

Directrice Financière de la Fondation Techfugees

Petra Johansson a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de l’événementiel, allant du parrainage, des médias à la vente dans des organisations telles que IIR Conferences (maintenant Informa Group), Incisive Media et Financial News. Elle est basée à Londres depuis 1998 et dirige la société de conseil en événements TwistedTree depuis 2007, et est également co-fondatrice de 2Pears.

George Papandreou

Conseiller Spécial

George A. Papandreou est ancien Premier ministre de la Grèce (2009-2011) et conseiller au Conseil mondial des réfugiés. Actuellement, il est président de l’Internationale Socialiste (depuis 2006) la plus grande organisation mondiale de partis politiques progressistes et président du Mouvement des socialistes démocrates en Grèce. Il est également vice-président de la Foundation for Olympic Truce et membre du Global Leadership Council of Sustainable Development Solutions Network – une initiative mondiale pour les Nations Unies. Il est membre du Global Leadership Council de l’organisation humanitaire Mercy Corps. Il est commissaire de la Commission mondiale de la politique des drogues. Il est membre du Club de Madrid.#TFSummit18 – George Papandreou: “Migrants and refugees should be seen as the new Europeans”

 

Axelle Lemaire

Conseillère Spéciale

Citoyenne française et canadienne, Axelle Lemaire a travaillé au sein du gouvernement français en tant que ministre de l’Innovation et des Affaires numériques entre 2014 et 2017. Elle a élargi l’écosystème de la French Tech, présenté le projet de loi sur la République numérique au Parlement et initié la stratégie nationale d’intelligence artificielle. Avant d’être élue députée en 2012, elle a travaillé comme avocate et chercheuse spécialisée en droit international et en droits de l’homme. Elle est désormais Partner chez Roland Berger Paris.

Ahmad Sufian Bayran

Conseiller Spécial

Ahmad Sufian Bayran est directeur régional de Techstars pour le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique, un réseau mondial qui aide les entrepreneurs à réussir dans 150 pays avec une variété de programmes, y compris Startup Weekend. Ahmad SB est expert en entrepreneuriat social, startup et économie collaborative. Son site Web est l’un des blogs les plus importants du monde arabe qui aborde le pouvoir de l’économie collaborative et de la blockchain. En outre, il est également directeur du programme Jusoor, Entrepreneurs en résidence à Aliqtsadi. Il a encadré plusieurs startups et organisations à but non lucratif et a publié deux livres sur l’entrepreneuriat dans les zones de conflit et la communauté des réfugiés.

Aline Sara

Présidente de Techfugees for Impact

Aline Sara est la cofondatrice et PDG de NaTakallam, une entreprise sociale primée qui met en relation les réfugiés et les personnes déplacées avec des opportunités de travail dans le secteur linguistique à travers l’économie freelance. Libanaise, née et élevée à New York, Aline a terminé son Baccalauréat au Lycée Français de New York et est diplômée en psychologie de l’Université Tufts de Boston. Elle a ensuite déménagé à Beyrouth et a travaillé dans la résolution des conflits et les droits de l’homme avant de passer au journalisme, se concentrant sur les droits de l’homme et des femmes et les affaires sociopolitiques plus larges avant, pendant et après les soulèvements arabes. En 2015, elle a eu l’idée de NaTakallam à la lumière de la situation de travail difficile pour le million de réfugiés syriens au Liban et tout en cherchant des moyens de pratiquer ses propres compétences en arabe. 

Jay Corless

Trésorier de Techfugees for Impact

Jay Corless est directeur principal de l’innovation à la Fondation des Nations Unies. À ce poste, il cherche à identifier, à mettre en valeur et à mettre à l’échelle les innovations sociales qui ont un impact sur les objectifs de développement international. Son travail professionnel s’étend sur deux décennies au sein du système des Nations Unies et du secteur privé. Il possède une vaste expérience professionnelle dans la communication, des technologies de l’information, de la diplomatie culturelle, des innovations en design, de l’élaboration de politiques et de la gestion de projets.

Marion Lemaire

Secrétaire de Techfugees for Impact

Marion Lemaire est une professionnelle du numérique passionnée. Elle travaille pour des marques de mode et de design en ligne depuis 7 ans. Diplômée d’une maîtrise en médias et communications à Lille, en France, Marion a voyagé et vécu dans plusieurs pays, pour finalement s’installer à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. Elle fournit actuellement des services de conseil en e-commerce, tout en développant des projets personnels, centrés sur sa passion pour le vintage et la mode.

Sarah Gallitre

Administratrice de Techfugees for Impact

Sarah Gallitre travaille actuellement au sein du groupe Havas en tant que chef de cabinet du PDG. Diplômée de Sciences Po Paris, elle a débuté sa carrière de rédacteur de discours pour Emmanuel Macron alors qu’il était ministre de l’Économie puis pour le PDG de Fnac Darty, leader de la distribution en Europe. De 2017 à 2018, elle a travaillé comme conseillère auprès du ministre de la Culture en France. 

Rejoignez nous

Nous recherchons des personnes talentueuses pour partager leur expertise et nous soutenir dans la croissance de Techfugees.

Si vous êtes intéressé(e), veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

OUR TEAM

Mike Butcher

Founder and Chairman

Mike Butcher is Editor-at-large of TechCrunch. Mike has been named one of the most influential journalists in European technology by Wired UK, The Daily Telegraph and the Evening Standard. He also founded the annual Europas Awards, the co-working network TechHub and has advised the UK government on tech startup policy. He was awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list of 2016 for services to the UK technology industry and journalism.

Raj Burman

Chief Executive

Raj joined Techfugees as CEO in November 2020. Fellows of the renowned Institute of Enterprise and Entrepreneurship, Raj brings with him a wealth of experiences in various business fields and experienced leadership. His career spans three decades of scaling high-growth ventures across international markets, with specific knowledge of digital innovation, entrepreneurship and philanthropy. In his previous role at Sustain Ventures, Raj applied his philanthropy experience across  international impact ventures and corporates supporting the UN Sustainable Development Goals. 

Prior to that, Raj worked for GS1 as well as led the SME scaleup business accelerator in the United Kingdom for an independent body of the European Commission.

Joséphine Goube

Executive Director & Board Member

Alumnus from both Sciences Po Paris and the London School of Economics in urban development, Josephine has been the CEO of Techfugees, coordinating the tech community to create technology for and with displaced people since 2015. She seats on the board of the Norwegian Refugee Council and acts as an informal expert for the European Commission on migration reforms. Nominated as one of the top “30 under 30 Social Entrepreneurs” by Forbes in 2016, 2017 and 2018, in 2017 she was honored as “Digital Women” of the year in France in 2017. From 2012 to 2016, Josephine was Migreat’s partnerships manager, a London startup specialized in applying for visas for Europe.

Photo ©Ben McMillan 2013

Louise Brosset

Global Community Coordinator

Graduated in entrepreneurship from ESCP Europe in Paris and Berlin, and City University in London, Louise worked as a research assistant in cognitive science. She cofounded  Black Sheep, a student association aiming at learning and duplicating best practices from NGOs working with forcibly displaced people to scale innovation (focus Asia). She joined Techfugees in 2018.

 

Cherine Ali

#TF4Women European Scaling Manager

A Syrian civil activist who has worked and managed several humanitarian and peacebuilding projects in Syria since 2012. She was also a co-founder and member in many initiatives in order to raise awareness about human rights, women empowerment and create safe spaces for displaced children. Chérine has been in France as a refugee since October 2015, graduated in sustainable engineering from “ENISE” The National School of Engineers of Saint Etienne – France in 2018 and the Faculty of Civil Engineering-Damascus University. She was a fellow in TF4Women 2019. Chérine is now part of the TechFugees team because she believes that empowering and ensuring equal professional opportunities is an original human right for any refugee.

Laura Braune

Head of Digital Marketing & Communications

Just graduated from a Master’s Degree in Human Rights & Humanitarian Action at Sciences Po Paris, Laura joined Techfugees March 2020. Laura has been working with refugee and displaced populations for more than three years now. She has carried out various missions with Sciences Po Refugee Help, the French and Belgian Red Cross, as well as a one-month internship in a Montessori school for orphaned children in Sri Lanka. Laura is also passionate about Diplomacy, and completed a four-month internship at the Permanent Representation of France to the United Nations agencies in Rome. It was there that she developed her taste for technology and innovation, and was definitively convinced of their usefulness for the protection and respect of the rights of displaced persons.

Flore Bitouzet

Coordination TF4Women

Flore is studying at emlyon Business School and joined the team in May 2020 to care after the coordination and logistic work of the #TF4Women fellowship. Flore has become passionate about the welcoming & inclusion of refugees since her family started participating to JRS activities, hosting asylum seekers at home temporarily since 2015. She has a strong interest in geopolitics. 

Petra Johansson

Financial Director & Board Member of Techfugees Limited

Petra Johansson has 20+ years experience from the events industry ranging from sponsorship, media and delegate sales at organisations including IIR Conferences (now Informa Group), Incisive Media, and Financial News. She has been based in London since 1998 and runs events consulting company TwistedTree since 2007, and is also co-founder of 2Pears.

Min Teo

Board Member

Founding member of Techfugees and former Chapter Lead of Techfugees UK, Min has an extensive experience in the field of financial inclusion and cryptocurrencies. Based in London, she currently works as managing Investment Partner at ConsenSys Investments.

George Papandreou

Special Advisor

George A. Papandreou is former Prime Minister of Greece (2009-2011) and Councillor at the World Refugee Council. Currently he is the President of the Socialist International (since 2006- ) the largest global organization of progressive political parties and President of the Movement of Democratic Socialists in Greece. He is also the Vice President of the Foundation for Olympic Truce and a member of the Global Leadership Council of Sustainable Development Solutions Network – a Global Initiative for the United Nations. He is a member of the Global Leadership Council of the humanitarian organization Mercy Corps. He is a Commissioner of the Global Commission on Drug Policy.  He is a member of Club de Madrid. #TFSummit18 – George Papandreou: “Migrants and refugees should be seen as the new Europeans”

 

Axelle Lemaire

Special Advisor

A French and Canadian citizen, Axelle Lemaire worked in the French Governement as Minister for Innovation and Digital Affairs between 2014 and  2017. She scaled up the French Tech ecosystem, introduced the Digital Republic Bill to Parliament, and initiated the national Artificial Intelligence Strategy. Before being elected as an MP in 2012, she worked as a lawyer and researcher specialized in international law and human rights. She’s now Partner at Roland Berger Paris.

Ahmad Sufian Bayran

Special Advisor

Ahmad Sufian Bayran is Techstars Middle East and Africa Regional Manager, a worldwide network that helps entrepreneurs succeed in 150 countries with a variety of programs including Startup Weekend. Ahmad SB is social entrepreneurship, startup, and collaborative economy, expert. His website is one of the most prominent blogs in the Arab world that tackles the power of the collaborative economy and Blockchain. In addition, he is also, Jusoor Program Director, Entrepreneurs in Residence at Aliqtsadi. He mentored several startups and non-profit organizations and has published two books on entrepreneurship in conflict zones and the refugees community.

Aline Sara

President of Techfugees' Charity

Aline Sara is the Co-founder and CEO of NaTakallam, an award-winning social enterprise that connects refugees and displaced persons with work opportunities in the language sector through the freelance economy. Lebanese, born and raised in New York, Aline completed her Baccalaureate at the Lycée Français in New York City and graduated in psychology from Tufts University in Boston. She then moved to Beirut and worked in conflict resolution and human rights before transitioning into journalism, focusing on human and women’s rights and wider socio-political affairs before, during and after the Arab Uprisings. In 2015 she came up with the idea for NaTakallam in light of the challenging work situation for the million+ Syrian refugees in Lebanon, and while searching for ways to practice her own Arabic skills.

Jay Corless

Techfugees' Charity Treasurer

Jay Corless is Senior Director for Innovation at the UN Foundation. In this position he seeks to identify, showcase and scale social innovations that deliver impact on international development goals. His professional work spans two decades within the UN System and the private sector. He has broad work experience in communication, online technologies, cultural diplomacy, design innovations, policy development and project management.

Marion Lemaire

Techfugees' Charity Secretary

Marion Lemaire is a passionate digital professional. She has worked for successful online fashion and design brands for 7 years. Since graduating from an MA in Media & Communications in Lille, France, Marion has traveled and lived in several countries, eventually settling down in London, UK. She is currently providing consulting services in e-commerce, whilst also developing personal projects, centered around her passion for vintage and fashion.

Sharanya THAKUR

Techfugees' Charity Administrator

Sharanya works at Gravity, a French Kenyan start-up which uses digital identity to help refugees and SMEs gain access to services. Sharanya has extensive experience in monitoring and evaluation of humanitarian programmes. She’s co-leading the French chapter of Techfugees.

Alexandre MEYER

Techfugees' Charity Administrator

Ex Googler and Rocket Internet managing Director, Alex is currently exploring new projects and interested in things related to technology & positive. He’s co-leading the French chapter of Techfugees.

Join us

We’re looking for talented individuals to share their expertise and support us in growing Techfugees. 

If you’re interested in then please fill out this form.